2013: Ph.D. in Physics, University of Sydney

2008: B.Sc. (Honours) in Physics, University of Sydney

2007: B.Sc. in Physics, University of Trieste

Research Positions

2020-present: Senior Lecturer and ARC DECRA Fellow, University of Sydney, Australia

2017-2020: Lecturer and University of Sydney Fellow, Sydney Nano, University of Sydney, Australia

2014-2016: Humboldt Fellow, Leibniz Institute of Photonic Technology, Jena

2013-2014: Postdoctoral Research Associate, University of Sydney


2021: Course co-coordinator, Sydney Science 2050: Towards the Future – SCIE1001

2019-2020: Course co-coordinator, Physics Interdisciplinary Project – PHYS3888

2018-present: Lecturer, Waveguide Optics Module, Advanced Electrodynamics and Photonics – PHYS4121

2017-2018: 3rd Year Lab Demonstrator, School of Physics, University of Sydney

2013: School of Physics, University of Sydney. I prepared and disseminated 90 minute lectures for the Masters in Photonics program on the topics of Plasmonics, Metamaterials and Sub-wavelength imaging

2011-2012: Postgraduate Teaching Fellow, School of Physics, University of Sydney. The aim of the Postgraduate Teaching Fellowship Program is to provide training and experience in tertiary teaching for outstanding postgraduate students with the objective of training the next generation of Australian university academics.


2022-present: Secretary, Optica Sydney Local Section

2019-2021: Secretary, University of Sydney Early and Mid-Career Academic Network (SEMCAN)

2019-2021: Sydney Nano Institute EMCR Ambassador

Professional Honours, Awards and Fellowships

2020-present: Australia Research Council Discovery Early Career Researcher Award (DECRA)

2020: Faculty of Science Award for Outstanding Early Career Teaching (with Dr. Ben Fulcher)

2017-2020: University of Sydney Fellowship

2016: Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting Alumnus

2015-2016: Humboldt Postdoctoral Fellowship

2014: School of Physics Postgraduate Alumni Prize for Best Physics PhD Thesis at the University of Sydney

2014: Highly Commended, Canon Extreme Imaging competition

2013: Finalist, Bright Sparks PhD Pitch Night, Amplify Festival, Sydney

2011: First Place, Australian Institute of Physics (AIP) Postgraduate Award

2011: Faculty of Science Postgraduate Research Prize for Outstanding Academic Achievement, University of Sydney

2011: First place, Wanda Henry Prize for the best student presentation, Australian Conference on Optical Fibre Technology, Melbourne, Australia

2010: Second place, oral Contribution Award, PECS-IX, Ninth International Conference on Photonic and Electromagnetic Crystal Structures, Granada, Spain

2009: First Place, Best Student Abstract Submission, Australian Conference on Optical Fibre Technology, Adelaide, Australia

2009: Vice Chancellor Research Scholarship (VCRS), $30,000 per annum. The VCRS are offered each year to attract students with an outstanding track record of academic achievement and research potential to pursue full-time PhD studies at the University of Sydney

2008: University Medal, University of Sydney. The University Medal is granted by the of Sydney to honours students whose academic performance is judged to be outstanding.